top of page

HOW TO BE SINGLE: A Review

This year for Valentine's Day I had a productive and fun day, ended with a trip to the movies with my friend Kristen. We saw, "How to Be Single". It was one of the must fun and hilarious movies I've ever seen. Think the amount of laughs you had watching "Talladega Nights" mixed with the type of humor from "Trainwreck". The movie is about dealing with singlehood in New York City, whether you are chronically single, newly single, tragically online dating or single and past or prime. Writers did a great job of making this movie relateable to anyone by incorporating these different characters.

Rebel Wilson undoubtedly stole the show with her endless humor and great natural comedic timing. The other actors did, however, all do a great job and totally held their own next to the notorious comedian. The chemistry was undeniable between Wilson and Johnson and they really made you miss (at least made me miss) that one crazy friend you had in college!

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the soundtrack of this movie. It had a great mix of today's top hits and a few sprinkles of older, but great songs! The cinematography and lighting was reminescent of other party comedies, like "Neighbors" and I really believe that added to the fun-factor! One scene in particular I leaned over to my friend to tell her how much I wanted to be at that party.

Overall this is a great film, especially for singles, but everyone can find comedic relief there! It is pretty raunchy, so if you were planning to take your kids or go with your parents, maybe re-think your decision. It might lead to an awkward night.

bottom of page